about me

A little about me

Who am I?

Mom and son
This is me and my son Hayden

My name is Nadine Carroll and I am a mom, career woman, and student. I have a son named Hayden who is 5, and he pretty much keeps be busy all the time. Other things that I do are work, learn new things, some photography, cook, and other activities when I can find the time.

IMG_5642
My son in front of the cabin I grew up in

I was born and raised in Alaska, Fairbanks to be exact, and I grew up in a small town called Fort Yukon, AK. I am the oldest of four born to Janet and Clifton Carroll, a couple of the most wonderful parents anyone could ask for. My siblings are Emily, Jada, and Gordon.

IMG_1114
My father and son

I loved growing up in a small town being surrounded by the untamed wilderness knowing that I lived in one of the most unique places in the world.

IMG_0461

My roots run deep in the Yukon Flats, and I have a ton of family in Fort Yukon and the surrounding villages. I can’t even list the number of cousins I have. My family is Gwich’in Athabascan and European from my paternal great-grandfather, and maternal grandfather. My father’s grandfather wrote a book about his coming to Alaska and establishing a life there in the early 1900’s.

DSCN0123
A scene in a slough off the Porcupine River

One of my favorite things that I loved about growing up in Fort Yukon was going outdoors with my family an doing such fun things like camping, swimming, dog mushing, fishing, and other excursions. My dad’s knowledge and skills in this department were excellent.

IMG_2242
My father, mother, and I

I could not imagine how tough my ancestors had to be to live in this area without all the modern amenities we have today.

IMG_4166 (1)
My grandmother Jessie

Hearing stories from my grandmothers is so fascinating. I could only imagine the things they’ve experienced.

DSCN0131
My grandmother Annie

Being a kid in the village was so much fun and there were always adventures to be had. Even when I was younger, I have always loved going to school. I had a great experience going to elementary in Fort Yukon because of all the fun things we used to do and having close knit friends that are now life-long friends.

HaydenandEm3
My sister Emily and son

I am a two-time graduate of UAF. I have a BBA and an MBA from the School of Management. I graduated in 2011 and in 2015. I currently work for the Birch Creek Tribal Council and I am going on my seventh year there!

IMG_6940
Lanikai Beach

I love to travel when possible and its even better when my boy gets to come along. We have been to some pretty cool places.

IMG_4733
Disney World

Currently, I plan on continue to work and take time for myself, learn new things and finish my hobbies and side projects. Thanks for taking the time to learn a little more about me!

Leave a Reply

