Projects

Beginnings of a Kuspuk

This past Friday I went to kuspuk making class at Northern Threads here in Fairbanks. Kuspuks are an Alaskan staple, and you will most likely run into someone wearing one at some point. They are mainly used my the Yupik and Inupiaq people and some Athabascan groups.

IMG_6674

The colors and fabric I chose

I chose this navy blue fabric with fireweed flowers all over. For the trim I decided to use a bright pink ric rac material to match the color scheme. I chose this trim becauseI it seemed traditional yet modern with my colors.

IMG_6675
Pattern that I used for my Kuspuk

The pattern I used for the kuspuk was purchased at Northern Threads. This pattern had sizes 2-32. I am a beginner with a sewing machine so I was not sure what to expect. The first day of class we cut out our patterns then cut out our material and glued on the trim.

IMG_6676
My materials

So far, my kuspuk is coming along great and I can’t wait to post the finished product.

Leave a Reply

